wheat

GF: what not to eat

Written by Jodi on . Posted in gluten-free living

You need to avoid any food that contains the protein from wheat, rye, or barley. Here is a list of these foods:

  • Atta (chapatti flour)
  • Barley (flakes, flour, pearl)
  • Beer, ale, lager
  • Breading

    and bread stuffing

  • Brewers yeast
  • Bulgur
  • Communion wafers
  • Couscous
  • Croutons
  • Dinkel (also known as spelt) *
  • Durum *
  • Einkorn *
  • Emmer *
  • Farina
  • Farro or Faro (also known as spelt) *
  • Fu **
  • Graham flour
  • Hydrolyzed wheat protein
  • Kamut *
  • Malt, malt extract, malt syrup and malt flavouring
  • Malt vinegar
  • Malted milk
  • Matzoh, matzoh meal
  • Modified wheat starch
  • Oatmeal, oat bran, oat flour and whole oats ***
  • Pastas
  • Rye bread and flour
  • Seitan ****
  • Semolina
  • Spelt (also known as farro or faro, dinkel) *
  • Triticale
  • Wheat bran
  • Wheat flour
  • Wheat germ
  • Wheat starch

* These are all types of wheat

** Fu is a dried gluten product derived from wheat that is sold as thin sheets or thick round cakes. Used as a protein supplement in Asian dishes such as soups and vegetables.

*** Oats are contaminated with wheat and barley, unless they are specially grown, harvested and processed.

**** Seitan is a meat-like food derived from wheat gluten used in many vegetarian dishes; sometimes called “wheat meat”.

Source: Adapted with permission from Gluten-Free Diet: A Comprehensive Resource Guide 2008 by Shelley Case, Dietitian.

Join for nutritional wisdom to nourish yourself and your family!